Refrigerator Organization Drawers for the Kids

This is NOT my fridge. But it could have been...

This is NOT my fridge. But it could have been…

With a family of 5, my refrigerator is the stuff of nightmares.

We have 5 sets of hands at any given point of the day rummaging through drawers and shelves. Most things get shoved to the back and die a moldy death. Other things get smashed. A few times we’ve even had things topple out and crash onto the floor.

After much trial and error, I realized the problem: All children (and some husbands) suffer from We-have-NOTHING-to-eat-itus.

Even when I’ve just spent $400 at the grocery store that very same morning. And where might this particular disease stem from? From not looking 6 inches past their own noses when they open the fridge door.

So I needed a plan of attack. One that didn’t require me having to run to the fridge every time one of my offspring proclaimed we were food-less so that I could prove them wrong.

My solution? This beauty:

sterilite drawers

This wonderful 3 drawer plastic lifesaver is… well… just that, a lifesaver.

I purchased my drawer unit by Sterilite from Walmart for just over $5 but these handy dandy things are available for purchase in most any similar type stores in your area. (Just make sure you measure, measure, measure before you purchase one of your own to make sure it fits!)

Wondering what I did with this to make it such a lifesaver? I became a momentary genius and stuck all of the kids go-to foods and snacks in each drawer. And then I labeled each drawer. And then holy light poured from my refrigerator.

Using sticky white labels usually made for file folders, I made a label for:

  • yogurt tubes and string cheese
  • applesauce and pudding cups
  • snack sized bags of carrot sticks, berries or any other snack-y type thing that I could bag myself

Feel free to make whatever labels suit your family’s snack preferences, or don’t label at all. You know their grubby little hands will go sifting through all the drawers every time anyway. Mine do. And sometimes my kids do too…

So now, when my kids are hungry for the 33rd time, they know that they can go to their drawers o’ plenty and pick from a vast array of nutritious snacks. It’s all there. In the drawers. The beautiful, wonderful, labeled, leave-mom-alone-I-can-do-it-by-myself drawers.

I’m currently contemplating putting in a second drawer unit for my husband… will post more on that later if he doesn’t divorce me because of it.

Tagged: , , , , , , , , ,

Leave a Reply

Redesigned By M

DIY-er who loves to redesign, repurpose, and reorganize just about everything.

Nicole Chamberlin

Lifestyle blogger with a passion for fitness

My Favourite Pastime

Food, Travel and Eating Out

Love. Bump. Life.

Making a Mommy out of Me

The Adventures of Fanny P.

...because life is just one big adventure...

First Time Mommy

Journey of a first time mother

The Knitting Neurotic

A great WordPress.com site

Game4Learning

Fun Learning Resouces for Kids

Megan Has OCD

About Mental Health, Daily Struggles, and Whatever Else Pops in My Head

Miss Marzipan

healthy • heartfelt • homemade

Mommy by day Crafter by night

Plain & Simple Parenting with an Extra Scoop of Sarcasm

Mommy's Kitchen - Recipes From my Texas Kitchen

Plain & Simple Parenting with an Extra Scoop of Sarcasm

Mom Always Finds Out

Notes by a MOM who doesn't know it all, but ALWAYS FINDS OUT about Family Life, Going Green, Organic & Natural Foods and Living, Coupons, Cloth Diapers, Books, Products, Giveaways, Recipes and More!

Moms & Munchkins

Plain & Simple Parenting with an Extra Scoop of Sarcasm

Mommy's Obsessions

Plain & Simple Parenting with an Extra Scoop of Sarcasm

Mom and Pop Culture

The trials and errors of the realistic parent

Scary Mommy

Plain & Simple Parenting with an Extra Scoop of Sarcasm

Finding Joy

Plain & Simple Parenting with an Extra Scoop of Sarcasm

MOM Plain & Simple

Plain & Simple Parenting with an Extra Scoop of Sarcasm

